FAQ’s (Frequently Asked Questions)
Click on the down arrow next to the question to see the answer. Please feel free contact us if your question is not listed.
Can I use (do I need) an international driver’s license?
Valid drivers licenses issued in your state or country is acceptable. A passport must be presented if you are renting from another country. An international license may be used, but not required in the state of Florida.
Do I need insurance to rent a vehicle?
Yes, you must have proper insurance coverage as required by state law. We can also arrange insurance if you don’t have any.
Is there a minimum age requirement to rent?
Yes, you must be at least 21 years old to be eligible.
Do you pick up and drop off customers?
Yes, we have a service to pick up and drop off customers for rentals.
Do you deliver and pick up the vehicle?
Yes, we do provide these services.
Do you pick up at the airports?
Yes, we pick up from the airport and deliver to the airport.
Do you deliver at the hotels?
Yes, we do deliver at hotels but customer needs to be present to sign your rental contract.
Methods of Payment
What forms of payment do you accept?
You can pay cash, credit card, debit card or online through PayPal.
Can I use another person’s credit card for renting a vehicle?
Yes, but the card holder must present themselves with proper I.D. to sign the rental contract.
Do I need a rental deposit?
Yes, a deposit is required for security purposes. The amount of the requested deposit will be returned to you after the rental.
How much is the deposit?
The deposits are based on the type of vehicle you want to rent. Deposits range from $1,000.00 to $5,000.00
Type of Vehicles
What type of cars do you have for rental?
We offer some of the world’s finest exotic cars, sports cars, luxury cars and luxury SUVs.
Do you have automatic or stick shift cars?
Most of our vehicles are automatic. If you prefer a manual shift, please inquire for availability.
Will I be charged if I cancel my reservation a day before or the day of the original drop off date?
A confirmed reservation may be cancelled without penalty up to 72 hours of rental date and time. If the rental is cancelled within 72 hours of rental date, the rental reservation deposit may be forfeited. Depending on the season, our cancellation policy may vary. Please inquire within.
Is there an additional charge for more than one driver?
Additional drivers may be added to the rental for a $25.00 per driver, per day fee. All additional drivers must meet the same requirements as the main driver to be eligible. See our Rental Policy page for additional information.
Is there an additional charge for fuel?
Fuel must be brought back the same way it was given to you. See our Rental Policy page for additional information about fuel.
Is there an additional charge for being underage?
Yes, it only applies to customers that are 21-24 years old. See our Rental Policy page for additional information about age limit requirements.
Do you offer accessories with your rentals?
We do have many different accessories that can be rented with the vehicles. We can accommodate things like baby and booster seats as well as pretty much anything else you may need. Just ask.
Out of State Driving
Can I drive the vehicle out-of-state?
Vehicles can only be within the state of Florida. See our Rental Policy page for additional information about mileage.
If I have a flight leaving during your closing hours, is there anywhere I can leave your vehicle?
Yes, we have a drop off service. Let us know in advance for instructions on where to leave your vehicle.